Venice: The most touristy but magical place

IMG_1213

I was standing on the boat from Punta Sabbioni. It’s a nice view over the lagoon that leads us to Venice. The boat is packed with seasonal tourists, which makes me kind of impatient till we get there.

Venice is a city that is situated on several different islands. There are many boats that will take you there, and back to wherever you came from. The first thing I noticed was that the boat traffic is extremely busy. It is like the car traffic from any other reasonable sized city. This isn’t surprising when most tourists go by boat, instead of car. Not only because you cannot drive in Venice, but also because parking your car is expensive.

Image

 In the summer it is very, very busy here. At the main sightseeing spots like Piazza San Marco you will see many souvenir stands. Don’t waste too much money on them, because most of those souvenirs are made somewhere in China anyway. Instead, walk a little further to the more quiet streets. I also did this, because I was becoming a little uncomfortable in the packed crowd in combination with the heat. When I started moving away from the crowd, into the less busy streets, I though Venice was becoming more beautiful (I could actually finally see something, as I’m not that tall).

ImageImage

[tourist terror!]

Image

[More quiet part of Venice]

If you want to go to an even quieter place, I would definitely recommend you to go to another island called Murano. When you take the boat from Venice, it is about 25 minutes. This island is famous for its glass artwork. Many glassblowers make a living here, and you can watch some of them creating the most beautiful glass statues in minutes (like it’s the easiest thing to do). Murano glass is very popular among more wealthy people around the world, but the smaller glass works are pretty affordable. Murano seems very peaceful when you just came from Venice. I absolutely loved this island and made me very calm.

Image

[Murano]

After a day of visiting Venice and Murano, I went back to Punta Sabbioni. I had dinner with my family at the most beautiful and romantic restaurant I have ever been at called Antica Dogana. It is located right at the lagoon, so while you’re eating you will experience the most beautiful sunset. Just like the view, the food is also amazing. The restaurant even offers places to stay. Definitely give it a try!

Image

Image

[Dinner with a view!]

Leave a comment