The Grand Canyon: a gigantic statement

IMG_0673

I walked up the stairs towards the point where you can have a look over the Grand Canyon. Before I expected it, I was there. The view over the Canyon was totally breath taking. It was like looking at a painting, unreal as it seemed. I could not make a perception of how big this was. I felt small.

After looking full of disbelief at the view for a while, I decided to walk down the path on the mountain with some travel companions. The paths are quite small and consist of sand. Some of us (including me) had not thought of wearing suitable shoes, so we slipped away on the sand sometimes (which was pretty scary sometimes!). After walking down for almost two hours, it felt like the bottomless earth still hadn’t come any closer. You just can’t make a perception of how deep the bottom is. At those moments you realize how small you are compared to this massive nature.

When you decide to walk down the mountain, the most important thing is to bring a 1.5 liter water bottle with you, because you will get dehydrated if you don’t drink constantly. And don’t worry about finding a toilet when you walk down, because you will sweat all the water out.

If you want to see other parts of the Grand Canyon without walking for hours, there are shuttle buses driving to other parts of the Canyon. During the day they go about every 15 minutes.

IMG_0706

Squirrels are definitely not shy here! This one took one of my sandwiches when I wasn’t paying attention for a minute.

 

Related articles

Leave a comment